KNC-NA Statement on Democratic Autonomy in North Kurdistan

July 18, 2011

After the collapse of Othman empire new states such as Turkey, Iraq, and Syria were created. A potential new country was supposed to be Kurdistan, but Turkey and its allies prevented this from happening. Gradually Turkey turned to a modern democracy for the Turks and an oppressive state against the Kurds.

The Kurds realized the rights are not given but taken. To fight oppression and denial of their existence and rights by the government in Ankara, some Kurds in North Kurdistan turned to diplomacy and some to armed resistance. Their plea for justice fell on deaf ears and neither method brought any immediate results. However, persistence and continuation of both methods led to an important recent development, the idea of democratic autonomy.

Finally 850 delegates from North Kurdistan declared democratic autonomy in Amed (Diarbakir), the Capital of North Kurdistan, on July 14, 2011 and invited the Kurds to call themselves democratically autonomous Kurdistan citizens.

We at the Kurdish National Congress of North America congratulate the people of North Kurdistan for this courageous decision. As a democratic, secular, and peaceful organization, our hope for all parts of Kurdistan is freedom, independence, and peaceful coexistence with other ethnic groups. While independence is our ultimate goal, we support democratic autonomy as an evolutionary and peaceful step in the right direction. 

We are confident the future of all ethnic groups in the region is an advanced union where the idea of oppression and dominance will be substituted with cooperation and equality similar to European Union.

Board of Directors

Kurdish National Congress of North America


Board of Directors: Dr. Kamal Artin, President; Mr. Issa Mosa, Vice President; Mr. Nyma Ardalan, Secretary; Mr. Dyari Ahmed, Treasurer; Mr. Luqman Barwari, Public Relations Chair; Dr. Ihsan Efrini, Public Relations in Canada

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *